Curb my what? (4 of 100)

Hello once again, dear readers.

Today, Ben has finally convinced me to watch the phenomenon known as Curb Your Enthusiasm. I’ve avoided it to this date because it’s the brainchild of the demon that created Seinfeld, Larry David, and as I loathe Seinfeld with a gut-wrenching passion, I figured that to avoid undue angst I should give “Curb” (as I’ve heard it referred to) a wide berth. In addition, I’ve already seen one clip, by accident. This clip. I think you can see why I would never want to watch another second of this show.

Enter Benjamin, master of televisionary torture. The only person ever to make me watch more than one episode of the accursed Seinfeld in a row, has been on my case to give Curb Your Enthusiasm a shot. Well, I’m in a good mood tonight and have an hour to kill, so here we go. For your reading pleasure, here is a play-by-play of my reaction to the first episode of CYE (as it will be henceforth dubbed, because I’m too lazy to type the whole title).

Okay. He’s frustrated that his pants make an awkward tent. That’s understandable. Now he’s trying to go see a movie with a dude who’s on a date. Okay, here’s a funny face. So far, I’m not loathing this. Good! Oooh, there’s nice plants in the kitchen. Some African violets, an asparagus fern, parlor palm, I’m getting good ideas for my place!

He’s in a theatre. Oh mannnnn now I want popcorn! Uh oh, he’s starting a scene with a chick who won’t move. Actually, I kind of wish I could do that to irritating people. I’m a little unsure as to what this is, is Larry David playing himself? In any case, his manner REALLY reminds me of somebody I know, but I can’t think of who. It’s a little frustrating. OH SNAP! The tent pants struck in the theatre! Somebody has misunderstood this situation! Hilarities! Okay, unsarcastically, those pants look hilarious.

Office now. LD (Larry David) is talking to some dude. The dude’s parents took an off-the-cuff Hitler comment way too seriously. Not a ton of humour in this. Now there’s an argument that’s involving two people talking a lot at the same time. It’s a little irritating. I want to punch one of them for interrupting, but I can’t tell which one is the offender. They’re both annoying in their own special way.

Now he’s apologizing to two old people that he offended. There’s still a lot of people all trying to talk at the same time. It’s kind of stressing me out. OH CRAP. His wife is trying to sort out the tent-pants misunderstanding in the living room. RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRG. NOBODY IN THIS SHOW WILL LET ANYONE ELSE TALK. My blood pressure is rising.

Okay. New setting. Hopefully people will quit interrupting each other and I can start to enjoy myself. It’s a restaurant. Aw jeeze; remember those old people that LD was apologizing to? Well, he just ran into them at the restaurant, and they’re mad because he didn’t go look at some kids? Oooookay, he is playing himself, he was just referred to as the creator of Seinfeld. Alright, I can dig self-deprecating humour. Oh, here’s a foreseeable circumstance; LD’s reservations got messed up, and he had to sit with the stupid old people. Prepare for awkwardness. Awkwardness ensued. The end. Alright! To the analysis!

My verdict: barely watchable. There were some funny parts, so funny that I actually did laugh. However, the stress was so uncomfortable that I had a really difficult time. I guess that I’ll have to watch more, to cement my opinions and allow the show to develop. I can really sympathize with Larry David in this episode though; everything he freaks out about is totally something I would freak out at in the same situation. Perhaps I’m a little better at curbing my enthusiasm for molding the world around me to my will, but the base rages are quite similar.

Well, that’s it folks. See you tomorrow!

-T.

About narsi1ion

My name is Tessa. I'm 27 years old, and I live in Hamilton ON, previously Calgary AB. I'm battling recently-diagnosed fibromyalgia, and steadily improving chronic dizziness. Things that I don't get angry at: Bunnies, Gerard Butler, Blood donors, The colour purple, Parrots, Flan.
This entry was posted in 100 Day Blog Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Curb my what? (4 of 100)

  1. Pickle says:

    Teh Lolz. Even though I love that show (but hate it when people call it “Curb”) I love you more and that was hilarious. Jason had the exact same problem with it at first but after dozens of forced viewings he’s come to love it. That’s what he says anyways, he might be lying because I’m so sexy…

    You’ll also be happy to know that I have come to accept that Jerry Seinfeld’s standup totally blows goats although I still find the non standup bits of Seinfeld funny.

    😉 Stephie

Leave a Reply

